What’s in my Travel Makeup Bag!? Eye Makeup Edit

Hello world!

I’m going to address a few things before starting this entry:

  1. I updated my blog!  I think it looks a lot neater and easier to read, no?
  2. My blog did not go up this morning, but I am posting this entry once I finish. Forgive me?
  3. I will post pictures of all products mentioned, don’t worry!  I haven’t had the time because I’m also working at a research lab and I have a million things to do.  Sorry y’all!

P.S. All of the products are only suggestions, so do some research before purchasing.   I will also mention drugstore and high-end products!  This entry will cover everything (I’ll at least try to) from eyebrows to eyeliner and anything else in between, so hold onto your hats and let’s get crackin’!

Eyebrows: Let’s start off with the budget options, then work our way up.  Sound fair?  I prefer  waxy eyebrow pencils with a small nib, so I definitely recommend the NYX Micro Brow Pencils (I have dark chocolate brown hair and I have the shade Taupe, but it is a little too light– I will explain).  This is very similar in formula and texture to the Anastasia Brow Whiz (I have it in the shade Ebony and it is a PURRFECT match), but it is about half the price… say $10 USD?  I use this in combination with the L’Oréal Brow Stylist Plumper in the shade Light to Medium.  This combination is a great color match for my hair because it’s “ashy” enough to look semi-natural, yet defined– I am a fan of this look.  The L’Oréal Brow Plumper is great to hold down unruly brows, but it doesn’t make them feel too “stiff”.   In combination with the Anastasia Brow Whiz Pencil, I will use the L’Oréal Brow Plumper in the shade Transparent.  The Brow Whiz is my perfect shade, so I don’t want to color them anymore than I have to.  Try these combinations and let me know your thoughts!

Concealer (underneath the eyes): I  just remembered that I forgot to mention an all-over-the-face concealer *dohh*.  I would recommend the MAC Pro Conceal and Correct Palette in the shade medium or the NYX Concealer Palette because they’re both compact and have varying shades.  Now that that’s taken care of, an under eye concealer I would recommend is the L’Oréal Magique Lumi Concealer in the shade Medium.  This concealer is super blendable, so I’m not going to find an alternative high-end concealer.  Sue me twice!

Eyeshadow primers: I usually use an eyeshadow primer because I have suuuper oily eyelids.  Just like mah face, my makeup will slip right off without a primer.  I just always forget to apply it *whoops*.  A budget option would be the Milani Eyeshadow Primer in the shade 01 Nude, which reminds me a lot of the Two Faced Shadow Insurance Primer.  The differences between the two are price and longevity.  The Two Faced primer helps your eye makeup lasts a little longer, but the Milani primer is less expensive (roughly $5 USD).  Makeup is very subjective, so others may be partial to something other than the suggestions listed.

Eyeshadow palettes (I have two high-end products, but no drugstore options): I’m so sorry for not having a drugstore option!  Also, I am partial to palettes instead of individual eyeshadows when traveling.  I will eventually try the Milani eyeshadow palettes and give you my thoughts!  Give a gal some time!  Anyway, I have a customized MAC quad (shades: rice paper, bamboo, wedge, and woodwinked).  This is my favorite day-time option, but my night-time option would be the Charlotte Tilbury Luxury Palette in The Dolce Vita.  I don’t regret buying the CT palette, but I could have saved a little more money and bought a Tom Ford quad (Note: I am a college student, so I do not have a dispensable amount of money *sighs heavily*).  Do not splurge on luxury palettes when it is not needed, buy an awesome primer, and a drugstore palette and be perfectly content.  I know, I’ve learned my lesson.

Eyeliners: The Stila Stay All Day Eyeliner and the L’Oréal Infallible Super Slim Eyeliner are two of the same.  They are similar in opacity (black eyeliner is what I prefer), but the Super Slim liner is a fraction of the cost.  I would check out the Super Slim liner before purchasing its high-end counterpart!  I also have the Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner, which I like, but it’s not an absolute necessity.  I have this as an option on days where I don’t want to have such a stark contrast between my eyeshadow and eyeliner.  This gel eyeliner is great for a subtle, yet defined line; however; it does not prove to be long-wearing.  It will smudge, but if a primer is used, the longevity will increase.  Pick your battles well, Padawan.

Mascaras: I am partial to drugstore mascaras (Covergirl Lash Blast Fusion, Maybelline The Rocket, and Maybelline Lash Sensational), but the Two Faced Better Than Sex Mascara is amaazing.  I wish there was a waterproof option!  Pick your poison here and go nuts, y’all!

Well, that’s all the eye makeup I’m bringing on my trip.  Let me know if you have any suggestions, tips, tricks, etc.!  I hope you all have a wonderful everything (hehe) and I’ll speak to you all very soon! x

With lots of love,

Coohleen

6 thoughts on “What’s in my Travel Makeup Bag!? Eye Makeup Edit

  1. Like your list 🙂 ,some stuff are zxpensive here 😦 but I like loreal mascara or maybelline they are amazing, and for concealer I herd great things about maybelline concealer.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I wish I had alternatives from the drugstore, but if you have any recommendations I would love to hear them (: I will test out a few drugstore options and let you know in a few week’s time.
      I actually have the Maybelline Fit Me concealer! I have yet to thoroughly test it out. I’ll let you know my thoughts in a week or two? (: ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

